First West: NW Territory

America’s “First West” was centered on the state of Kentucky in 1795, as Kentucky being the 15th state, was the first state west of the Appalachian Mountains. There were also two US Territories surrounding Kentucky at that time, the Northwest and Southwest Territories. Together, these territories and Kentucky defined America’s “First West,” with distilling prevalent throughout. The history and heritage of America’s First West distillers provides inspiration for our fine aged whiskeys today.